Become a Patron!

Wire question.

Enpsyclopedia

Member For 2 Years
ECF Refugee
I have been using nichrome for almost three years now. My local vape shop has some titanium wire that I am thinking about trying out. If I started making titanium coils, what would be the noticable differences compared to my nichrome? And if there are any perks to using titanium, what are they?

Thanks

bestkeptsecret

Bronze Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Personally I think Titanium coils are one of the dumbest ideas ever. Ok it is probably unlikely you will heat your coils to the point you start producing lots of Titanium Dioxide (let alone ignite them) but you get your coils nice and hot and you might produce a little of it. In very small doses it is still not good at all.

I certainly wouldn't be comfortable glowing titanium coils checking for heat spots. You would definitely be producing enough heat when you do that.

Id be interested to know if anyone who has used titanium coils has ever noticed any amount of whitish residue on spent ones.

Enpsyclopedia

Member For 2 Years
ECF Refugee
Personally I think Titanium coils are one of the dumbest ideas ever. Ok it is probably unlikely you will heat your coils to the point you start producing lots of Titanium Dioxide (let alone ignite them) but you get your coils nice and hot and you might produce a little of it. In very small doses it is still not good at all.

I certainly wouldn't be comfortable glowing titanium coils checking for heat spots. You would definitely be producing enough heat when you do that.

Id be interested to know if anyone who has used titanium coils has ever noticed any amount of whitish residue on spent ones.
I never thought about it that way, but then again I have always heard to stay away from nicrome coils for related reason. However they dont seem to affect me any different than kanthal. What about stainless steel though? I saw those for sale too.

jwill

The Great King of Nothing
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor