Become a Patron!

Types of Wicking w/ Cotton

SaintSkinny51792

Silver Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
hey all! Ive been building for a couple years. But ive always done the standard wicking we all know and some love. I was wondering:
A.) What other types of wicks can be made using Cotton Bacon
B.) Which of these do YOU prefer
C.) Pro's and Con's of each wicking style
I have done some searching with little luck, so any info would be great!

DED420

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Scottish Roll. The prep work involves pulling the cotton apart to almost tearing. This break the capillaries of the cotton, allowing more juice to be soaked up more efficiently.

Here's an analogy, albeit strange.

Take a brand new magazine. Roll it up. Since all the pages are flat, the magazine rolls up very tightly, with no spaces between pages. Now take the same magazine, and crumple it up, all the pages. Now roll it up again. Since the pages are creased and wrinkled, the magazine will roll up loosely with spaces between the pages. These spaces will Inherently hold more than the tightly rolled magazine.

Same thing goes for cotton. More spaces = More juice. The fluffier, the spongier, the better.

I haven't used Cotton Bacon since my very first coil build, still have a pack lying around somewhere. I use Muji OJC, so it comes in sheets, unlike CB, which comes in "strips". I'm unsure if the same method can be applied efficiently with Cotton Bacon because it is manufactured differently, but it's worth a shot.

SaintSkinny51792

Silver Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years