Become a Patron!

New to mech mods, a few questions.

Hello, I'm not new to vaping but I am new to mech mods. I recently ruined my sony battery by discharging it all the way (I wasn't aware my charger didn't work, but local vape store replaced charger for free)

I also got a new battery from there. This battery says on it
"HGB18650 2200mAH - H1223P"

Now my question is, I've heard horror stories of these things blowing up. I have two RDA's at the moment, one is a plumeveil at .5 ohms, the other is a onslaught a-mod at 1.0 ohms.

I am just wondering, because I know obviously the onslaught at 1 ohm would be safer, but how much of a risk of danger am I in? I don't want this thing blowing up, or catching on fire. Please fill me in with whatever I should know.

Thanks in advance,
Johnny.

Update, I had my battery on the charger and I swear I saw it smoking. So I pulled it out really fast and now I'm scared to do anything with it. Did I waste money on this mod?

Last edited:

Panther1911

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
I would stick with a well known battery Like a samsung 25R or LG HE2 or HE4

Both those are considered safe up to 20amps continuous drain....so dont build lower than 0.21ohms

that battery you got doesnt seem to have much publish data

BATTY SAFETY is huge! better to be safe than sorry.

familiarize yourself with ohms law and battery safety, once you get the hang of it.....mech mods are a great thing :)

Also a good charger is key..........i have a Efest LUC v4 and am very happy with it

OBDave

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years