Become a Patron!

New to building...need help please!

I have been using the vamo v2 for about 2 months and wanted to try the rebuildables. My local store set me up with a zenith 1. they built the first coil and were not very helpful with teaching me the ways of it...i dont know what guage they used or what i should use. i am also having an issue with my mod displaying low ohms and 9.9 ohms. how do i go about fixing this.

M5amhan

Silver Contributor
Member For 5 Years
dont know about your zenith or vamo problem but start with 28 gauge wire for a regulated device and use one of those blue mini screwdrivers to wrap around which is equlivalent to a 5/64th drill bit 10 wraps to start and adjust for ohm preference

BigNasty

Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Depending on the area you might have a better shop that will show you how to build it, or at the very least youtube will have builds you can watch and learn from or even a local might have half a clue and get you a good build.
Shops like that need to called on the carpet for the bullshit artists that they are.

Ok the low res or no res or 9.99 ohms is a couple of things. Your 510 pin might be pushed down to far was a common issue with vamos, a simple o ring repair might be in order.
You might have a short in the atty or it is simply built to low for the vamo to fire it.

As for wire a good starting point is 28-32 ga. it is cheap and Temco is fast shipping on a-1 kanthal.
As for build I disliked my gennies with a mad passion but others love em.

M5amhan

Silver Contributor
Member For 5 Years
you mean space between each wrap? thats up to you dont think it changes ohms much though, always have tight wraps whether you space them or not. less wraps = lower ohms, thinner (higher gauge) wire = higher ohms

ok. how about running dual coils? the store(if you could call it that) said it was not a good idea, due to my mod being adjustable. is that true?

M5amhan

Silver Contributor
Member For 5 Years