Become a Patron!

Learning about Wattage - Beginner HELP

Hi there!

I'm a beginner on Vapes - actually I've start to used it for a few months ago. My first device was an eLeaf, iJust Start. Currently I did an upgrade to Innokin Cool Fire IV Storm Edition and I was using the pre-made coils wich came with, 0.5 ohms to use between 20-35wats.

Now I have a RBA coil (iSub RBA from Innokin) and it's being a bit difficult to me to build it. When I start, the pre-made coils had the advice about wats, but the RBA haven't (of course) and I'm a bit lost about it.

I already had changed the juice and all, but it still tasting like burned (and it is!). I'm changing the wattage, putting new coils, new cottons, but it just still tasting like it's burned - and always!

Could somebody help, pleeeeeeease? I'm begging for help, because I really want to learn it, but it's a bit frustrating. It was soooooo good and nice and was tasting sooooo sweet with the pre-made coils, but I was feeling me like a fool using pre-made coils on the Cool Fire...

This is my set up:
Device: Innokin Cool Fire 4 - Storm Edition
Coil: iSub RBA from Innokin
Wire: Kanthal A1 26ga
Cotton: Cotton Bacon
The wire has 5 wraps: 4 full rounded wrap and 1 half wrap (I think it's right, on 5 total).
Ohms: With 5 wraps, it's worthing between 0.86-0.91 ohms (depending of the wattage).
(Currently I'm using the Lost Fog e-juice - Streek, 0.3 strength - and it's tasting like nothing but burned).

Thank you since now!! xx

freemind

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Well, you may have several problems.
1 You can't wick cotton super tight. It should be snug, but not packed in there, tight. Too tight will not allow it to wick juice. Too loose is bad too.
2 You didn't say how many watts you are running not with a .9 ohm coil. Somewhere around 20 watts should be where you want to start and adjust up or down from there.