Become a Patron!

Kanger Subtank Mini & Plus - Which coils do I buy?

theargonaut33

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
HI there. I recently purchased the Kanger Subtank Mini and the Kanger Subtank Plus. I like both but I'm somewhat new to vaping and I'm trying to figure out which coils are compatible with these 2 units. I see some I buy are vertical and others are horizontal. I've had a lot of out of the box problems with both that I've bought. So much so I'm thinking about buying yet a 4th tank that is not Kanger so I don't have to deal with their crappy coils that are half DOA out of the box. One says 5G and the other says 5D on the side of the 2 I bought. I'm trying to figure out what I'm supposed to be buying for these units. Help appreciated. Thanks.

CorallineAlgae

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
That really isn't enough information to go by. We need to know if you prefer your vapor hot, warm or cool, what wattage range you like, if you prefer the vertical or horizontal coils, and what mod you are using. Personally, I recommend the 1.2 ohm coils. They're horizontal (so they can be re-wicked), have good airflow, aren't too hot and put out nice flavor.

If you really want a better vape from the Subtank you could always use the rebuildable head and start wrapping your own coils.

I just started vaping 2 months ago. Got a subox mini, took a few days to get used to the differences from smoking cigs but very happy I made the change.

I use the 1.2 occ at 19W. I actually have tried the different air settings and found I like best when the most open setting is just a little open and thus allows the larger hole setting to be fully open as well. Lots of air but just a little resistance, which I like.

I find the kanger occ 1.2 lasts about 3-4 days before getting gunked and losing flavor/tasting "dry".