Deadalus pro

Discussion in 'New Builders Corner' started by tomczak215ii, Jan 2, 2018.

  1. tomczak215ii

    tomczak215ii Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    Who all uses the deadalus pro clapton coil marker? Needed some help building staggered fused Claptons. I can get the spacing done but when I try to wrap the Claptons with the wrap wire it doesn’t lay in the spacing at all. It keeps trying to fully clapton the two clapton wires.or I get the picture below. I’m using ss316l 28g and 36g ss316l wrap wire.


    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. Fudgey Finger

    Fudgey Finger Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    555
    I was under the assumption that the deadalus can only make basic Clapton builds.

    Sent from my LGL164VL using Tapatalk
     
  3. tomczak215ii

    tomczak215ii Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    The original one yes. The new pro one does a lot more.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. Neunerball

    Neunerball Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,165
    Damn! Now I will have to get the pro, although I haven't used V. 1 yet.

    Regarding your wire, have you tried torching it before wrapping?
     
  5. tomczak215ii

    tomczak215ii Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    No haven’t tried that yet. The new pro is not as good as the original. It was supposed to but honestly not worth it. I’m actually pretty upset that it’s not doing the job it’s supposed to. The staggered fused Claptons. They make it in the video look easy but a few I have talked to are having issues also. One big problem is it bunches up or goes backwards on the core wire randomly.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Neunerball likes this.
  6. Neunerball

    Neunerball Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,165
    That sucks! Guess, I'll stick with my V.1 instead.
     
  7. tomczak215ii

    tomczak215ii Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    The only other perk to it is you get a new wire jigs that hold five core wires. Also there is a new brass piece for using the coil jigs. But all in all not worth the extra price tag until the company breaks down how to use it more.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. DaWhiskers

    DaWhiskers New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    I have the original and the new "Pro".

    Single core claptons... super easy

    Dual core claptons... just as easy as single core claptons

    multi core claptons... the new jig makes up to 5 cores easy as any dual fused

    staggered claptons... easy once you get the hang of initial setup

    stagger fused claptons... providing you get the stagger right... these are no more difficult than a dual fused...

    Benefits of getting the pro over the V1:
    Clamp with bearing swivel
    Jig has better tools for multi core fusing (ribbon or round wire)
    Plastic straw tubes fit in the jig to make feeding wires through the jig SO MUCH easier and reduce the wires flapping about if not using the clamp
     
    tomczak215ii likes this.
  9. tomczak215ii

    tomczak215ii Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    [QUOTE="stagger fused claptons... providing you get the stagger right... these are no more difficult than a dual fused. [/QUOTE]

    Any way to provide pointers for the staggered fused Claptons? I can get the spacing done but not the final wrap.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. DaWhiskers

    DaWhiskers New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Any way to provide pointers for the staggered fused Claptons? I can get the spacing done but not the final wrap.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

    With 2 staggered cores side by side, I manually wrap the first 5mm of the fuse (while threaded on the jig and the cores going through the jig already), and then insert that into the drill... slide the jig towards the drill (turning the spool on the jig to rewind the wire back on to the spool) until the tension stops you pushing the jig closer to the drill.

    From there, make sure there is tension on the wrapping spool from the nut and spring, and slowly start the drill. Its the tension there that pulls the fuse into the gaps in the staggered claptons. You will need good tension on the spool of wrapping wire when doinging this to stop it from backing up or wrapping over the stagger instead of between the staggers.

    Next time I knock up some SFC I'll see if I can grab some pictures.
     
    tomczak215ii likes this.
  11. Zohmbiebuilds

    Zohmbiebuilds Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Messages:
    940
    Not random, if the pressure and other variables are there there is no random to building. Just memory, luck (at times although you make for your own luck). If your trying to do those builds if anything get a swivel and use the drill from the artisan.

    Is it even a variable speed drill? I have never used one. Kind of glad that I couldn't afford one.

    Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk
     
  12. Zohmbiebuilds

    Zohmbiebuilds Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Messages:
    940
    Am I the only one who thought those pics of the original coil actually looked kind of cool?

    Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk
     
    DonBaldy and tomczak215ii like this.
  13. ☠Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm☠

    ☠Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm☠ Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    I hope I'm not hijacking this thread but.. I bought Deadalus a week ago. So far I've wasted 100ft of n80 40 gauge (using it as a wrap) and managed to make only 3 successful tricore fused clapton coils . It is wrapping perfectly fine and then, out of the blue, it would start piling up the wrapping wire thus ruining the whole spool. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  14. tomczak215ii

    tomczak215ii Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    I do use swivels and the drill that comes with it to do almost any build I do. The drill that comes with the kits is variable speed which I have the original one. All the other builds are easy with their kit just not fusing the staggered Claptons.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  15. tomczak215ii

    tomczak215ii Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm">
    The tension might be too much on your wrap wire or not enough. Also I use the swivels to do anything more than a basic Clapton to keep everything smooth. The other thing that helps is making sure the surface your using is very smooth. I use my dining room table because the wood has a glossy smooth surface.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  16. DonBaldy

    DonBaldy Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    690
    How so? I'm about to purchase one.
     
  17. ☠Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm☠

    ☠Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm☠ Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    I was gradually going down from 10 threads above the nut on the spin down to 5 threads. Results are still the same. How many threads do you have from the top of the spin to the nut? The surface is very smooth and "slide-able". I even lubed up coil jig so the wrapping wire spool would spin easier. Gonna try two more things - gonna use the swivel and gonna put some weight on top of the drill.
     
    tomczak215ii likes this.
  18. tomczak215ii

    tomczak215ii Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    Honestly it feels like the original moves smoother across the surface and easier to setup. The new ones me the thing I like is the new magic coil pieces because they fit more wires and the tubes that the wire go into is a plus also. But honestly all this you can do to the original for cheaper.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    DonBaldy likes this.
  19. Pastorfuzz

    Pastorfuzz Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    I have the V1 and have no problem. I use it on a glass table so the jig will slide easily.
    I tried it on a smooth wood table when I first got it and it bunched the wire a few times because the jig wouldn't slide smoothly.
    Glass is much better
     
    tomczak215ii likes this.
  20. ☠Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm☠

    ☠Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm☠ Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Yeah, so after 2 weeks of tribal dances and 300ft of wasted N80 36g (wrap wire) I was finally able to wrap a perfect 2ft long spool of dual-core fused clapton wire. And the only reason I was able to do that was I stopped using these "magic coil tools". When I was using them my cores were getting twisted too hard causing wrapping wire to start piling up on the cores every 5-9 inches. I don't know if these "tools" are flawed by design or it's just that my hands are growing out of my ass but I can wrap perfect fused claptons without these "tools" and it fails miserably with them.
     
  21. entropy1049

    entropy1049 New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    130
    My experience with the DP was that it made dual core Clapton’s with zero effort, but refused all attempts with the >2 core guided jig. But hey, it does make dual cores like a champ. Nice to flip the switch and come back 5 minutes later to a foot of good clean dual core Clapton wire...
     
  22. ☠Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm☠

    ☠Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm☠ Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    So I'm not the only one who noticed that. Good to hear. I started being seriously concerned about my ability to wrap a coil. What I'm doing now to build a tri-core fused claptons is I'm using this "magic tools" to wrap three cores together on one end of the spool, then I remove this "tool", hook up another end to the swivel and start wrapping without this "magic tool".
     
  23. entropy1049

    entropy1049 New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    130
    Yup. I found the spool sled and large eyed brass guide with the three guide sleeves to be an utter wrap wire and time waster. The guide inserts are helpful for doing tri, quad, and quint cores with the spool tamer method though. And I’m actually using dual core fused 95% or the time anyway, so it’s still a worthy aid in my case.
     
  24. iamadrunkguy

    iamadrunkguy Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    I don't have the pro but I have the v1 which I drilled out one of the brass guides to accommodate the wire sleeve (v1 :( ), added screws to the side, and added a tube (mechanical pencil sleeve) to the underside to help guide the wire and keep the wire sleeve from going all the way inside/under the jig. The first thing I tried to do was a staggered fused Clapton. I went slow and the wire was going where it needed to go, as soon as I sped it up about 3/4 of max i started double wrapping , slowed it down and it worked again fine. Just have to find a happy medium with wire spool tension and speed. Was 2 spaced 26gaSS wrapped with 34ga, wrapped both with 34 ga. Had to "re spool" my 34 onto another spool because v1 has a thick bolt sticking out of rig and my kanthal reel didn't fit. Small video below. Phone died and couldn't record any more. Now I have no wire and cant try again until later on this week....

     
  25. ☠Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm☠

    ☠Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm☠ Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    I moved on. No more Deadalus for me. Spool tamer all the way. And it costs $2 a piece while requiring minimum effort. 2*28/36 n80 3mm I made just yesterday for my friend using tamer and pasta machine to straighten the wire up (took me literally 10 minutes):

    [​IMG]
     
  26. ☠Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm☠

    ☠Ƥʂұçħớ ŘêἁḺm☠ Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Actually, I believe I know the reason why the wrapping wire kept piling up out of the blue in my case. I'm 99% positive it was happening because I was using only one bearing swivel. After putting a second swivel on I've noticed how many times both swivels were rotating which makes me think that when I was using only one swivel - it was jamming a lot thus causing these pileups.
    But since I've tried tamer I put Deadalus aside anyway.
     

Share This Page

Close This Message