Become a Patron!

Coil building newbie

misa0890

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
What's up guys. I'm just getting into the whole coil building thing and I would greatly appreciate some insight as to what different types of coils they're are and what the size of it means and things of that sort so forgive me if my terminology is inaccurate.

I am one of those rookies that want the best of the best and do not want to sacrifice anything. I'm looking for the best build that would generate the best cloud with the best flavor and would be smooth (I don't have iron lungs like a lot of vapors).

I just purchased a Kennedy (Great RDA with a couple of flaws) and I took the guys word on what build I should be vaping on. He ended up giving me a 24 guage 9 wrap build (not sure what size drillbit he used). I really like it but then again I'm a virgin when it comes to these things so I don't know if there are other builds. I initially wanted a .25 build but I figured it would be a little too harsh for me.

Now my understanding in this field is very minimal but do I have the right idea saying that the higher the resistance the more difficult it is for current to flow through which would create a higher ohm coil?

If I could have somebody explain to me what the effects of 1) the size of the gauge 2) the size of the actual wrap 3) the different types of available wraps are, that would be great.

Neunerball

Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
Take a look at http://www.steam-engine.org/coil.asp. Take it as a guideline line though! Click on the "How it works" (bottom left), and pay attention to heat flux and heat capacity. Play around utilizing different wire gauges, resistance, ID, etc. and look at the heat flux/capacity. You can also vary the Watt in the field next to heat flux.

Get back for further questions if needed.

CrazyChef

Custom Hand Crafted Coils - PureCoils.com
VU Vendor
VU Donator