Become a Patron!

coil build help

irideparkcity

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
hello, im looking for some advice and have a few questions. so i am new to building my own coils and have built a dual coil set up on my mutation v3 dripper. it is reading at .58 ohms(will jump around) with kanthal double twisted wire @ 26 guage i believe. wire takes a second to heat up. i am also using smok xpro m80 plus.
would this be safe to be vaping at about 50-70 watts?
again i am new to rebuilding so i appreciate the help.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    980.2 KB · Views: 22
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 20
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 19

martinelias

Silver Contributor
Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Shouldnt be jumping around. I like to leave the leads in for the ohm reading and will move them around if the ohms change then the posts need tightening, then i clip em after thats sorted. Also i like to put chamber and top cap on while on reader if my coils are lingering around the edge of the deck and if ohms changes i either try to shift them or just start over, that will short ya. Try doing those things and make sure ohms dont fluctuate on reader. If leads are already clipped try messing with the coils with a toothpick or even with your fingers the ohms shouldnt change.

irideparkcity

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
thanks martinelias for the reply. okay so it was because my posts were a bit loose so i tightend them and now at a stable 0.62 ohms. i have pulsed it and everything looks good. also is it normal that it takes a bit for my wire to heat up? right now i have it set to 60 watts. also what wattage range do you vape on with my ohm?

Sir Vapesalot

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year