Become a Patron!

whole mod getting hot

knuckles508

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
I'm kinda new to rda's but learn pretty quickly. The local vape shop originally built the mod for me at .2ohms. The last few days, even staying at .2, it's heating up on me. It wasn't doing this before. No shorts, no ground outs, no excess wire, etc.

Is this normal? Should I be worried?

Mod - kecig k100+
Atty - infinite clt
Efest 18650 2500mah purple

Thanks in advance for the help

MKPM

AMG
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
ECF Refugee
Whilst there may be no short in the atty, it is possible that there may be a short between the atty and the bottom button.....or you may have a dodgy battery. Troubleshoot these things.

knuckles508

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
I didnt see any shorts anywhere, both batteries I have still look like they are brand new and charge normally. The center post and button insulators all look good too.

I just don't get it. Nothing is touching the battery that shouldn't be, and everything is spotless and clean

MKPM

AMG
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
ECF Refugee
The atomiser is not at fault....but there could be a wee breach in the insulator(s) somewhere in the mod. If both batteries behave the same, then they are also not to blame other than I have no experience with the purple Efest.

knuckles508

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
What should I look for? This whole setup is only 3 weeks old

MKPM

AMG
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
ECF Refugee
Completely break down and clean every conceivable part. Remember, new does not mean perfectly operational. I think there is something where it should not be, that cleaning will address.