VandyVape Swell

Discussion in 'Ask An Expert' started by brendonvape, Nov 7, 2019.

  1. brendonvape

    brendonvape New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Hello fellow vapers, I came to you with a problem with my recently bought Swell Box.
    The problem is the box itself does not have all the options I can see on youtube videos or Vandyvape’s site like close-up ohm checker. I did update the firmware through the Vandyvape but nothing has changed. Any ideas? Might this be an issue with my app? I’m on iPhone and the app here is a little buggy. Also the newest update I can install is 2.0.5 is that the most recent one? Can’t find any info on that as well.
     
  2. Synphul

    Synphul Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1,707
    Are you talking about voltage, bypass and the rest of the modes? Press and hold the up and down buttons together, a menu will pop up. Click the fire button once on the gear icon, then it lists the various modes. Scroll through the list with the up/down buttons and click the fire button to enable/disable the modes. That way when you're on the main screen and click the power button 3x to transit through modes you only have the ones you've chosen and don't have to keep scrolling past 'bypass' or 'tc' if you never use them. By default most of those are turned 'off' when you get the mod. Hope that's what you were asking.

    Far as the software, I have no idea. I set mine up using android and after a few times trying to register I finally got it to open the app. All was well, all the features worked. Now they borked again, every page of the app comes up with chinese error messages and none of the settings will stay in place. Like my dob in the user profile, keeps defaulting back to some random birth date I never entered. The phone sees the mod in blutooth but won't pair with it, keeps refusing to connect.
     
    Huckleberried likes this.
  3. Synphul

    Synphul Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1,707
    An update. I got the app working again (android) by deleting the app completely and redownloading it. For whatever reason it wouldn't connect, now it connects to the mod again and works properly. Did an update while I was at it. Good lord this is a buggy ass app. Took 4 or 5 tries to finally get the firmware update to download and it installed successfully. 2.0.5 is the most recent update as far as I can tell. Really a missed opportunity that vandy didn't include any actual pc/mac firmware to update via a computer, forcing users to update through their buggy app. There's no instructions on anything, anywhere which just leaves a user hanging in the wind. I'm pretty familiar with software and electronics, I can't imagine how bad it stumps people who aren't tech nerds.

    Piss poor design even though when it works it works well. This does not at all seem like it was ready to roll out to the public, more like a quirky linux beta version with a huge YMMV warning. The people working for vandy may know what they hell they're doing and maybe it makes sense to them but they certainly didn't clue in the rest of the class. No notes, no step by step. Always makes me a little twitchy when I see things like 'preparing', 'downloading', 'connectioning'. Wtf is 'connectioning' and why are you doing it to my device? There's no spell check in coding language.
     
  4. MyMagicMist

    MyMagicMist Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6,128
    Actually that's poor development habits. There are means and ways to check spelling in coding. That no checking is done signifies poor coding habits, laziness. This would give me pause to consider if the development team is being sloppy enough there are other errors such as in the algorithms. May not want to bother with any kind of so called "update".

    Even "quirky Linux beta versions" have a reasonable "stable" inherent. Linux developers attempt to code to Red Hat or GNU standards. Red Hat is for enterprise environments, business. GNU is for hobbyists, NASA. No, I am not a Linux developer. *rushes away*
     
    Synphul likes this.
  5. Synphul

    Synphul Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1,707
    Exactly, that was my concern. A typo in a menu isn't really that critical on its own, I got a chuckle. But if there's simple errors there, are there more serious coding errors? A typo in coding can break an entire function or more. One misplaced bracket or extra space, simple boo boos and an entire website can be broken.
     
    MyMagicMist likes this.
  6. MyMagicMist

    MyMagicMist Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6,128
    I understand that fully. When I am coding in various languages for hobby stuff, often I might forget a dot. You may not be surprised or may be to know a simple dot can cause all kinds of havoc. It happens coding up CSS especially, JavaScript is pretty common for it too & there's extra concern for sed, awk, Perl with dots.

    Parentheses play Hell in LISP and can be fouled up even using Emacs to code. That is highly ironic & hilarious as Emacs is coded from LISP itself and can be extended using LISP. You would nearly expect Emacs to not make such errors being LISP native. It was fun learning how whacked out parentheses can make code while trying to interpret C code into LISP for a video driver for Linux. *feigns innocent blank face, whistles an innocent tune*

    "I know nothing, I'm not even here. I did not even get out of bed this morning. Nothing do I know!"
     
    Synphul likes this.

Share This Page

Close This Message