Become a Patron!

Ti Coil vamping at 100*??

kstat83

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
I'm a fairly experienced builder. I do pretty well with nickel, and thought id give Ti a try.

Using the Xcube2.

I build a dual coil which should ohm out to .12 per steam-engine. The cube reads it at .26 and my ohm reader at .33. All steady though, no jumping around.

I made sure to set the temp coefficient appropriately on the cube. But unless I manually go into the cubes unique feature that allows me to manually adjust the initial ohm reading and lower it, i get a quite hot, fast vape that never reaches temp. It shows something like 140* max. So obviously something's wrong.

If I pull the I "initial ohm" down closer to what it should be, say, around .2, the temp at which I stop because it's clearly hot, moved up to closer to 250ish.

The point is, for Temp Control and Ti, how have others been finding it? Do your meters match your devices (close anyway)?

Help me out here. I'd like to be able to work with Ti and TC and leave Ni behind because I use RTAs and getting resistance where I need with 30g Ni is a bear. But so far Ti is winning this round. I can't seam to get a handle on it.

Thanks all!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AmandaD

Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I find the key with tc is to make your coil, wick it, juice it all up, and then leave it sitting at least 15 minutes before locking the temp on the mod. I have a USA ohm meter and it usually gives me the same reading as my sx mini (or close enough). What a coil is suppsed to be and what it actually reads can be different depending on connections etc. If you try and tell the mod it's something else I find I get a poor result.

kstat83

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years