Become a Patron!

Temp control Settings for Smok Alien 220w TC mod

Hey all, I'm brand new to temp control, and I have a question on how to set it up on my Alien. I'm using a dual coil build on a velocity-style deck, with Demon Killer stainless steel notch coils (type A, 316L). Now, I understand how to set it to TC, select my desired wattage and coil type. What I don't understand is the fourth setting;

TC-SS
<0.00105>

Now, I'd assume that has something to do with the gauge of the coil, but I don't know if I should keep that at the default setting or if there's a more appropriate setting i should be entering. Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited:

Vapin4Joy

Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
That's the TCR, .00105 is for SS304, set it to .00092 for SS316. ;)
Has nothing to do with guage, it's Temperature Coefficient of Resistance. Each type of wire is different.

Attachments

• qDpbMVR.jpg
    qDpbMVR.jpg
    150.4 KB · Views: 115
Your tip really helped out! Also, I learned on other sites, that since the ramp-up time for notch coils is practically non-existent, I shouldn't go much higher than mid-40s wattage on one of these coils.

This past weekend was awful with these coils. My wicks were literally conflagrating! (Like really. <FWOOSH!> Actual flames.) I've changed my build now; only using one notch coil, 300 degrees F in Temp Control, proper TCR setting (Thanks again!) and firing at 42 watts. My throat is now on the road to recovery!

:thanks:

Sorry to bump this thread, but I recently got the Smok alien as well and want to try Temp Control, now I have a 7 wrap 3.0 build around .14X ohm dual coil on a troll v2.. now I am using this wire Clapton Wire Spools - 36 SS / 26 SS Fused 2 Core / 25' from Lightningvapes, would I still set mine to .00092 for? as its SS? But its clapton wire... (newb to temp control) but know how to build coils for wattage mode :\

Synphul

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years