Become a Patron!

Steamist: sued by tobacco, but we're still here. (an introduction)

Steamist_Adrian

Unlisted Vendor
Hello folks of VU!
My name is Adrian and I'm a manager for a vape shop in Fort Worth, Texas now known as Steamist.
Steamist has technically only been an entity for about six months now, but as a business, we are coming up on our five year anniversary this month.
This strange contradiction is due to a copyright issue that arose about eight months ago when a large shisha/tobacco company based out of California (interestingly enough their name and even their old logo is eerily similar to the USA's most well-known coffee chain) decided to sue us after obtaining a web domain as the result of a four year legal battle with someone who had bought it forever ago.

Through some digging, we discovered that this large tobacco company has sued MANY times over the last seven years. Their stack of lawsuits includes suing Hershey's and the US government. We managed to find other small vape shop owners recounting being sued by them for things like having a juice flavor called "citrus mist" among other quite generic product names.

Our personal suit reason was that the company had acquired a trademark for a small cigalike that cost about $12, and that was enough to sue us out of our company's name. This has cost us a ton of time and money due to us having to choose a new name, register new said name, get a new storefront sign, create a new Facebook losing all of our old posts and content (did you know it's nearly impossible to change a Facebook business name, and just as difficult to get a hold of a real human to address said problem?), create a new website, and change every other bit of attachment to our old name.

But we're still here, and in light of this setback, I'm wanting to establish more of a community presence among places like Reddit, ECF, and VU.
So here's a little about us: