Become a Patron!

Some Help Please

ralph029

Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Alrighty folks I need some guidance here. I’m about to venture into the world of mech mods. I’ve got some experience with coil building at this point. I use SteamEngine. I know how to use Ohms Law. I own 3 multimeters (yeah I’m bragging, hehehe) and know how to use them. I’ve read and read and read and watched (YouTube) and watched and watched. The information out there is so conflicting. Hell I can’t get my coils to match SteamEngine numbers. I realize to use SteamEngine as a guide and work from there rather than take it for gospel. I use LG HD2 batteries (based on Mooch’s recommendations and results). I don’t push below .2 ohms on my coils, although one set does come in .19 ohms. I do use many different coils and some as high as .9 ohms. There is info out there saying to use the charged voltage of the battery (4.2) and others saying only use 3.7. I’m not an electrician but have dabbled in aircraft, auto, and motorcycle repair so while I have a healthy respect for and a basic understand of, I’m not “scared” of electricity. I do have the utmost respect for it. I guess the problem is information overload. I’m not an engineer, nor, again, an electrician. I don’t believe that, if done properly and with respect, that coil building is akin to rocket science but damn am I getting lost. I want to learn how to make a great tasting, moderately warm vapor on an efficient device that with proper care and respect is safe to work with. I don’t care about coiling as an art (well at least not yet). Sure, as my knowledge base increases, so will my boundaries. For now, let’s just be smart. If I was a social guy, I could pop my buddies with these questions but I don’t get out much and the folks I know would be no smarter than I am about this, so I’m turning to the “pro’s from Dover” (yeah, I’m old, so?!?!).Any help, guidance, thoughts, suggestions, comments, anything really would be