Become a Patron!

newbie on coil building - got stuck on kanthal wire

Hi all~ im new to vaping and just tried for about 1.5 month. An Im so new to coil wrapping...so new that I have a question that might sounds silly....

Im a MTL vaper and recently got the galaxies rdta and berserker rda, and tried to build my very own coil. I planned to make some 24ga kanthal A1 6 wraps 2.5mm single coil that should gives around 1.2ohm. However everytime I do so the ohm reader reads at 1.4ohm. I wonder if the ohm reader is down so I test it with stock coil like nautilus 2 or veco tank and it reads perfectly.
dNjaRxD.jpg

this is the stock coil from Galaxies which is a 2.5mm ni80 9 wraps and it read 0.85, just like what steam engine tells.

56kdPmj.jpg

This is my own coil made by kanthal A1 28ga 2.5mm 6 wraps which should give me 1.15ohm but end up it reads 1.37 to 1.4 ohm

I am so frustrated and anyone can give me a hand on this? many thanks

vlajone

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Did you dry burn your coils before cotton placing? The resistance will change a bit after dry burning. I also vape 90% MTL and I never use other wires but 28, 30 ss and kanthal. In some cases 32AWG.

Did you dry burn your coils before cotton placing? The resistance will change a bit after dry burning. I also vape 90% MTL and I never use other wires but 28, 30 ss and kanthal. In some cases 32AWG.
yes i usually burn it and check for hotspot. after i burn it the ohm even goes higher...around 1.4
i even think maybe I got the wrong wire...but the package do say 28ga lol

btw may u share your everyday build? i tried various combination on the 28ga kanthal but flavor is mute between 10 to 20w and im not sure if i should go anywhere higher

vlajone

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Every Ati has a bit different build in it. Here is few.