Become a Patron!

Maintenance on my Mech! How do I clean and maintain my Mech?

EMusic

Gold Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
I am new to mechs and just recently picked up my Kennedy combo. I know nothing about cleaning and maintaining my Mech combo. Materials, etc.

Help please?

Thanks!

IMG_0973.JPG

IMG_0975.JPG

Last edited:

MrMeowgi

The Vapin' Drummer
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I use vinegar on my copper parts but it would put that pretty thing in vinegar. Maybe rubbing alcohol for the threads, from positive pin on down.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

shawn.hoefer

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Yeah, keep the threads clean. I lube my threads with a very thin coat of dielectric grease. Keep the contacts clean and grease free.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

VapingInNewYork

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I clean the threads with rubbing alcohol then put some 3-in-1 oil on them. If contacts are brass or copper, soak in white vinegar for a few minutes then wash off with water. If contacts get arcing marks I use a Pink Pearl eraser to remove them.

EMusic

Gold Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Thank you everybody! :) I'll try the vinegar for cleaning the copper and the oil for threads (which I might have to buy) and report back with results.

SkoldVape

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Thank you everybody! :) I'll try the vinegar for cleaning the copper and the oil for threads (which I might have to buy) and report back with results.
I never felt the need to do that lol & I've used mechs longer than regulated mods

SkoldVape

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Never mind! I scrubbed a little harder and the grime came off. Thank you Skold!
No worries man :) it's always worked for me, vinegar will probably wear it away over time. I never wanted too risk it as my mechs are $120.00-$250.00