Become a Patron!

Macro vs Micro coils

yasaboss

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
So I've been building for a few months and what are you guys oppinions on density between the two? Some build at 1/16 id some at 1/8

Rommel

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Personally i prefer to build 1/8 (3mm), i just get better wicking and flavor that way. But it's a personal thing, whatever floats your boat.

I also like the aesthetics :D

yasaboss

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I'm running a dual coil 9 wrap twisted 26g 1/8 bit currently in a plume 1.5, until I make my mind up to my next rda that is

Last edited:

Giraut

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
A micro-coil is a small macro-coil.
A macro-coil is a big micro-coil.

Aside from the resistance you aim for, they're the exact same thing. Those who claim one tastes better than the other either don't know how to wick properly (which is what's really important) or they're talking bull to makes themselves look knowledgeable.

GrayVaper

Drips in Public
VU Donator
Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I found my sweet spot to be 2.4mm. That's the size I started with in the beginning and I use that rod size by habit. I don't think about it affecting flavor or anything else. For me, it's about proper wicking.

BoomStick

Gold Contributor
Member For 5 Years
High vg juice wicks better for me with a larger diameter. Especially when the wick has to work against the vacuum of a tank. Not as critical in something like an rda.

Mroutlaw

VU Donator
Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
So I've been building for a few months and what are you guys oppinions on density between the two? Some build at 1/16 id some at 1/8
I build 2mm or 2.5mm in my rda and 2.5-3mm in my kayfun.v4

My personal experience is that I get less dry hits in the kayfun v4 with a larger diameter coil. Had the same experience in my russian91

crazydmnd

Gold Contributor
Member For 5 Years