Become a Patron!

Learning the Billet style system

hawkwind5usa

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Is there a thread for educational info on learning the billet style system or is it a easy self taught system?

hawkwind5usa

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Some of the pointers I need are - preferred wire, coil size(dia. and wraps) wattage/temp, juice viscosity, salt or freebase nicotine. I'll be shooting for a mtl style vape(I hope). I'm sure there's alot of members with the same questions and more.

nadalama

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
VU Patreon
I don't think new Billet Boxes come with an RBA any more, so a lot of the answers to your questions will depend on which bridge you decide to use. All of my bridges are clones except for an Ambition Mods Molen and a Vandy Vape Vessel. The Molen I guess could be used for MTL, but you might be better off with one of the ones that come with airflow pins of different sizes, some of them all the way from 1mm to 3 or 3.5mm.

I use 30/70 e-liquid in all of mine, build with 26ga stainless wire, for an RDL vape around 0.25 to 0.4 ohms. ID of coils is usually either 2.5 or 3mm, and usually 4 to 6 wraps, depending on space. I run the box at anywhere from 25 watts to 45 with the second-largest airflow pin, just under 3mm. Of the clone bridges I have, the Mobb "The Last One" is my favorite, and it does come with an assortment of airflow pins. The best quality clone I've found came from 2fdeal.com and was about 25 bucks shipped.

If I were going to adjust for MTL, I'd probably go with an airflow pin around 2mm or a little less, 28 gauge nichrome wire, 2.5mm ID, maybe 7 or 8 wraps to get a coil right around 1 ohm. I'd reduce power to about 18 watts. Those are ballpark guesses on my part. It's been years since I vaped MTL, but I think that would get you started.