Become a Patron!

Kangertech SSOCC 0.5ohm coils...need some advice please...

Dannyboy928

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Hey,
I usually use a TFV4 on a SMOK X-CUBE II, but about a week ago my tank smashed while I was working, so the only thing available to purchase close to being capable that kind of wattage in the neighbourhood was a Kangertech NEBOX. (It was going to be my next mod until I heard about leaking issues, so I chose the SMOK). I love it, ok it's a step down, but it's perfectly compact, powerful and great tank capacity for someone running around a building site all day!
So to the point...the lady in the shop told me she would set up the Ni-200 that comes with it for me, as I've never used TC before for my all day vape. She set the NEBOX to 60w and 290C, which worked great but burned out the next evening. I searched around for a nice price on regular Kanthal OCCs and in the process discovered that Kangertech now do Clapton and Stainless Steel OCCs!
So I ordered some Stainless Steels, under the impression from an experienced vaper friend (no experience with SS myself) that SS was able to do both TC and Wattage modes...so stuck one in today when my Kanthal OCC died..I primed the coil of course, then let it soak in the tank with my 80VG homemade for about 20 minutes..which is more than enough for any coil I have ever used.
I fired it at 30 to begin with, it felt dry within 2 seconds. I waited, sucked on the drip tip to try and pull some more juice through, waited a little longer and tried again at 35, a couple of nice hits..then burnt. I thought maybe it's designed for TC...so I waited a little bit and tried 30W and 290C...couple of nice hits and burned tasting again!
I know im probably being stupid in some way or another, but I just can't figure out what I should do!