Become a Patron!

Juice turning my cotton black?

Baba Fats

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I have been using Vape Wild's juice for my ADV for about 5-6 months now. It's not the most outstanding flavor, but it's great for going through 20ml a day.

But recently, I've been a little concerned and annoyed by something. I switched from using my Squape R to my Taifun gt2s as my primary tank. The flavor from my squape was 100x better, but it started to leak from an unknown place, so I shelved it for a little bit. I am using the same juice (Fruit Hoops), on a 28g, 5 wrap, 3mm ID Kanthal coil. In my squape this came out to 1.07 ohms, and 1.22 on my Taifun.

Back to my point... I've never experienced this before, but my clear juice is turning my organic cotton wicks black. Not burnt. Actually, under the coil the cotton is white as the day I put it in. But the ends of the cotton that soak up the juice are getting coated in this nasty black gunk. I've scrubbed the tank clean multiple times. Nothing fixes it.

What could be causing my wicks to get gunked up before the coil does?

CurlyxCracker

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Carbon build up from coil soaking into wick. I'm certain you've experienced it before, maybe you didn't notice or wasn't that bad but I guarantee if you've been vaping flavored liquid for a substantial amount of time, you've experienced it

Baba Fats

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I've seen that before. Definitely not this bad, nor this quickly. I build a coil, and within 1 day, it build up and leaches into my full tank of juice

Last edited:

Baba Fats

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year