Become a Patron!

iStick Pico Problems

Hi Everyone. As my name suggests I'm trying to give up smoking. I've just started vaping and not touched a cigarette for 3 weeks now since I vaping and I love it. But I have a question. I have an iStick Pico with the Melo III Mini. I've just changed the 0.3 ohms coil that came in the box and put the 0.5 ohms coil in but found my vapes are now not as smooth as previously with crackling and spitting when I vape and it hitting my throat - whereas before I didn't have this problem. I'm not sure why this is happening? I think I may have flooded the coil a bit so that may be the reason or it maybe that the new coil is behaving differently. As I'm totally new to this I would be very interested to hear anyone's thoughts on what might be the issue. (I only changed the coil last night.)

ps - also all the settings on the mod are totally confusing me. The only one I understand is that I set it at 40 w as that worked fine with the other coil. But what is all this TC and M1/2/3 Bypass and so on... can someone tell me what would be average or standard settings so I can just set it right in case I've messed them all up.

Sorry if my questions seem stupid. I'm almost 60 and never been good with technology.

Thanks

RS

scalewiz

VU Donator
Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Try lowering the wattage from 40 watts down to 25 or 30 watts. See if the vape suits you better down there. It may be too much power for that coil. The watts setting simply controls how much heat is being delivered to the coil. Too low and vapor drops off to almost nothing; too high and the coil may begin to burn the juice, which is very harsh.

As far as the TC (temperature control) and M1/2/3 settings, I'd leave them alone for right now. Those functions are typically for more advanced use, and should only be used with stainless steel, nickel or titanium wire coils. More on that note............