1. CBD USERS: THE MIGHTY VAPORIZER GIVEAWAY!

    VU IS MOVING - EXPECT A BUMPY RIDE FOR THE NEXT FEW WEEKS :)

Help with Sigelei 213w!

Discussion in 'Regulated (Voltage / Wattage / 3.7v/ Temp Control)' started by Khaoticfury, May 5, 2016.

  1. Khaoticfury

    Khaoticfury Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    So I have an RX200 and for TC I just set temp, then set wattage, lock resistance, and go.

    With the Sigelei, I figured out how to set temp, but it is reading 10w for power output and doesn't have way to increase.

    I see the "preheat mode", but it says warning: use at reasonable time to avoid damage.

    Are you supposed to set the preheat at the same wattage you would set wattage for temp control on rx 200?

    I set it for 45w preheat, for 3 seconds.....is that the same? or am I missing something?

    Also, I see how to lock resistance, but it doesn't show an icon. so how do I know if it is locked?
     
  2. Khaoticfury

    Khaoticfury Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    I think I figured it out....appears it automatically sets wattage to meet temp setting.....just didn't have resistance set beforehand
     
    Vapin4Joy and Topweasel like this.
  3. Topweasel

    Topweasel Bronze Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    157
    That makes complete sense. I always wondered why you would set a power level if it was always going drop it down once it hits temp. If you weren't throwing enough power to hit temp then why even TC. Finally got around to popping a 316 coil in my Herk +. Going to give this a try today at some point. When Playing with settings I was having issues testing out NI200. But I might not have locked the resistance A. and since it wasn't acting like NI (Kanthal) it might have kicked it out. By this Saturday I should have cleared out the tank I have Nickel coils that I can try.
     
  4. Vapin4Joy

    Vapin4Joy Diamond Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12,047
    I set my pre heat to 30W @ .10
     
  5. Khaoticfury

    Khaoticfury Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    I am really diggin this mod now...i love that it is smarter than my rx200 lol
     
    Vapin4Joy likes this.
  6. R34SKYLINE

    R34SKYLINE Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    I just got mine on Monday. Its my favorite mod at the moment. Really like the ergonomics of it and the fact that it tells you when its locked
     
    Vapin4Joy likes this.
  7. Mabus51

    Mabus51

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Yeah I'm loving this mod as well it's been really stable no misfires, fits comfortably in the hand, and lightweight. Only thing that bothers me simply because of esthetics is the plastic buttons and the atty is ever so slightly off to the side.
     
  8. rchmx

    rchmx VU Donator Silver Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    How well is the carbon fiber wrap attached to you guys' mods? Is there a gap which makes noise when you squeeze the mod, like the other guy here mentioned?
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2016
  9. Vapin4Joy

    Vapin4Joy Diamond Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12,047
    Stuck like glue on mine! ;)
     
    rchmx likes this.
  10. Topweasel

    Topweasel Bronze Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    157
    I tried it (SS316) and at first like my test in Ni200 I I set the preheat, to 70w at 1.5 seconds (I did other settings) and again it fired for the 1.6 and dropped down. So I was starting to get worried that the pre-heat was a power setting. Nope. I just forgot to lock resistance. Once I did that leaving the rest of the settings alone it fired at 70 watts and then I could feel it dropping down and settled at a decent rate to maintain the 400 I had set for it. So can confirm. It uses temp control to set power level. Going to test this weekend with NI200 to see if I don't set a preheat that gets any real heat into the coils if it will ramp to temp on its own quick enough. It might need preheat to kind of establish a power level.
     
  11. Topweasel

    Topweasel Bronze Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    157
    I can't get mine to crackle or shift at all like that guy got. I thought I may have gotten something like that once, but I have put sooooo much pressure at different parts of the device and I can't get any kind of give.
     
    rchmx likes this.
  12. Mabus51

    Mabus51

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    The carbon fiber wrap on mine is solid no gaps, no wide spots, and no crackling like the video posted here. He must have had a dud unit as he was having misfires as well. I've had 0 misfires on the Moonshot and the Griffin RTA. Duds happen and most retail shops will replace easily enough. But you can't go wrong with this device. If you enjoyed the Sigelei 100 or even the 150 you will enjoy the 213.
     
  13. PaulS

    PaulS Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,800
    They just arrived at our local B+M and they are nice indeed. I got to play with one with my RDA on top ... the preheat was interesting but I did not see that big a difference. Might be best suited to TC. However the response on the mod was instantaneous. No lag at all. The build quality seemed very nice although it was surprisingly light and small for a 213w device. I don't know if it can take the beating my other Sigeleis do.

    Have any of you had it longer than a week?
     
  14. Vapin4Joy

    Vapin4Joy Diamond Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12,047
    Works like a charm, you do have to set Pre Heat in TC.
    Does anybody know the TCR value for NI?
    And any input on TFR, what is it?
     
  15. R34SKYLINE

    R34SKYLINE Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Ive had no issues with mine and the fit and finish is great. Wish I could say the same about my rx200
     
  16. kenpocory

    kenpocory Member For 4 Years Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    The only thing that I remotely don't like is that there is no way to turn it off other than taking the batteries out. No big deal to me really, I just wonder why they designed it that way. I'm assuming that it probably goes into some sort of stand by mode when it sits unused or something, but that's pure speculation on my part. I haven't really seen any battery drop from it sitting over night or anything. Overall, I love the mod and can't really see going back to my Sigelei 150 tc after using this thing.
     
  17. Vapin4Joy

    Vapin4Joy Diamond Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12,047
    What do you mean you can't turn it off. I turn mine off. Press the fire button 5 times within 3 seconds, you will see LOCKED on the screen and then it will power off.
    BTW a great first post!
    Welcome to the VU! :D
     
  18. Topweasel

    Topweasel Bronze Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    157
    It's on a low power setting that won't allow any button commands. But the unit is still powered on. Otherwise when you press a button it wouldn't state buttons locked. Heck the unit immediately powers on when you put batteries in it.

    I don't think it's a big deal specially considering that the batteries are some of the easiest to swap or remove, but it's a something to keep in mind at some level there is some power draw with the batteries installed. This would be much worse on an internal battery setup.
     
    kenpocory likes this.
  19. Vapin4Joy

    Vapin4Joy Diamond Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12,047
    Read the Instructions!
    You have Button Lock activated.
     
  20. kenpocory

    kenpocory Member For 4 Years Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks for the welcome Vapin4Joy :)

    Yeah, the standard five clicks on the fire button just locks it. As for as I can tell there is no way to power it off with any button combo, and the instructions don't even mention powering the device on and off.

    No big deal, I just find it odd. I don't even consider it an issue with all of the features this thing has.
     
  21. Vapin4Joy

    Vapin4Joy Diamond Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12,047
    That is power off.
     
  22. kenpocory

    kenpocory Member For 4 Years Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    If it's off then why does pressing the power button once bring up the word "LOCKED" with the full menu displayed after?
     
  23. Vapin4Joy

    Vapin4Joy Diamond Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12,047
    To let you know it's Locked/Power Off.
    Read the Instructions.
    I'm done!
     
  24. kenpocory

    kenpocory Member For 4 Years Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Seriously? lol I have read the instructions. If you read them it makes no mention of powering the device on or off in there anywhere. I've read them numerous times.

    It says quote, "LOGO "SIGELEI" will be displayed after put the batteries. Press the "Fire" button five times within three seconds, then the system will be locked." I quoted that with bad English and all btw.

    As you can see there is no mention of turning the device off. If the device was off it wouldn't display anything after pressing the fire buton. The word "LOCKED" displays along with the full menu. That's not powered off.
     
    Steamhead likes this.
  25. Vapin4Joy

    Vapin4Joy Diamond Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12,047
    So how well does it fire for you when you press the fire button and the screen displays Locked?
    Again I'm done with you. None of this bothers me.
     
  26. kenpocory

    kenpocory Member For 4 Years Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Yeah go figure, a locked device doesn't fire...

    You're done with me? That's funny. I seem to be the one wasting an enormous amount of time and energy trying to explain the difference between a locked device and one that is powered off. But it's been interesting. Thanks for that at least...
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2016
    Topweasel and Steamhead like this.
  27. Spyg0at

    Spyg0at Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2,402
    picking mine up tomorrow, can't wait!
     
  28. Mabus51

    Mabus51

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Vapin4joy, that's not powered off, it's simply button locked. If it was powered off you would see the Sigelei logo on the display when you power it back on. Lock mode is for the device being in the pocket or bag and doesn't accidently fire. The device seems to have a low power mode as it doesn't discharge much overnight unlike the Cuboid which consistently discharges.
     
  29. Vapin4Joy

    Vapin4Joy Diamond Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12,047
    Wrong, button lock is for carrying the mod in your pocket. Do yourself a favor, fully charge a set of batteries, check their voltage and install them in the mod, put the mod in lock, the next day check voltage drop on the batteries. You will find none.
     
  30. Topweasel

    Topweasel Bronze Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    157
    Yeah but that requires not using the device for a day. But I know how these devices work, sleep does not equal off. Some devices handle sleep better than others its still on. Which can cause problems if it turns out you have a bad battery, or if you are flying, and so on.
     
    skt239 and Vapingbeauty like this.
  31. Mabus51

    Mabus51

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    That's exactly what I said. Button lock is for carrying your mod around, so don't tell me I'm wrong when you agree with me. The device goes into low power mode even with button lock deactivated and you not touching it all night. Button lock does not turn the device off. It simple locks the buttons nothing more. If you power the device off and then power it on you will see the Sigelei logo. The only way to do this at this time is to remove the batteries. However it simply doesn't seem to be needed as the device goes into low power mode on it's own. Button lock does not activate low power mode either it simply locks the buttons.
     
    skt239 likes this.
  32. kenpocory

    kenpocory Member For 4 Years Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    I've been told that dna chips work pretty much the same way. I wouldn't know because the only mods I own are Sigelei. Regardless, I have no complains about the Sigelei 213. I was only making a simple (well, simple to most people) observation that somehow turned into a debate. Gotta love Internet forums.
     
    skt239 likes this.
  33. Mabus51

    Mabus51

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Kenpocory,

    Not your fault Vapn4joy is a 65 year old ignorant ass. People like him are the reason why I don't contribute to forums or communities. They aren't worth my time or the skin they're printed on. I'll be closing my account on this forum shortly and won't be back. Good luck, enjoy the Sigelei 213 it's an excellent mod. I've spoken with Sigelei and they do plan on releasing firmware updates. They have no comment on one those updates will include at this time. But know that they're listening to their customers on their facebook, so if enough complain about a power off mode they'll probably add it in a future update.
     
  34. siebert.brian

    siebert.brian VU Donator Member For 4 Years Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    I agree. This not being able to turn off is BS. I tried canceling my order when i found out. Myvaporstore.com ignored and never responded then shipped it 2 days later. Bogus ! Ive emailed Sigelei 20 times no reply. Ive sasid in a couple emails to include it in a firmware update because this is dangerous. At some point if left like that for a long period of time the batteries could become unstable. But for the argument the correct thing is it locks then low power mode . Think of it like a desktop you leave on standby , can turn it off but this is like leaving it on standbly , only thing is its safer on a desktop because it is plugged in. There is no way to turn it off. And honestly i think sigelei over looked it, like i said ive emailed them countless times and no response . They know its wrong and misleading.I'm pissed about it.
     
  35. Deucesjack

    Deucesjack VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 4 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8,007
    I don't know, my DNA 200's and 133's don't turn off and its never been a problem. Won't be a deal breaker for me. I'm ordering one as soon as ecig.com gets them back in stock.

    Sent from my GT-N8013 using Tapatalk
     
    nelsonm64 and Wingsfan0310 like this.
  36. TechnoGeek

    TechnoGeek Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    147
    My DNA200 turns off if left idle. If I don't touch it for awhile, it does go thru the boot process(You will see both the primary and secondary logos) , the same as when I first attach the battery. The DNA200 I have is the DX200, has a 900mah, 1300mah, and dual 18650 packs that can be quickly interchanged.

    All of that said, I have no way of powering it off on demand, it does it itself....I do believe I can adjust the timer though...
     
    Wingsfan0310 likes this.
  37. Deucesjack

    Deucesjack VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 4 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8,007
    I meant there is no way to manually turn it off.

    Sent from my GT-N8013 using Tapatalk
     
    Wingsfan0310 likes this.
  38. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    Not trying to be argumentative, but I believe it goes into a deep sleep. The reason I say that is while the Welcome screens are showing you can use it. It's not like you have to wait for it too boot up before use. either way, it uses basically no power while in that mode (I'm not 100% positive whether it's totally off or in a deep sleep). I've had a Hcigar VT200 still in it's box for ~6 months that still registers the same voltage as the day I got it (each cell may be 1/100 of a volt less because I'm going off my memory (didn't write it down). It came in with each cell at 3.9x and it's still that way to this day. I'm talking about a DNA200. I totally agree with the comments along the line as long as you can lock the fire button and it's not draining the battery, then it really is a nonissue.

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
    Deucesjack likes this.
  39. TechnoGeek

    TechnoGeek Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    147
    Ok, no problem. I misunderstood. Yes, you're right though. No way to manually turn it off. Is that what the Sigelei does as well?
     
  40. Deucesjack

    Deucesjack VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 4 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8,007
    That's what they're saying. I don't own the mod yet.

    Sent from my GT-N8013 using Tapatalk
     
  41. TechnoGeek

    TechnoGeek Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    147
    That's interesting, I didn't realize that all. I just assumed it was off and turned back on with a button press. Being the curious type I'll have to check it out once I fix my DX200.... I have to either resolder the 510 wire, or replace the 510.....
     
    Wingsfan0310 likes this.
  42. rice721

    rice721 Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Just a quick PSA, the TCR function doesn't really work on this mod. Check out this link to ECF (page20 post# 381), a fellow member did some tests with TCR, the coils glow at 200F, this shouldn't be happening under temp control.

    You guys can do a quick test for TCR. Set the preheat to a high wattage 80-100W and time to 0.1 secs with a temperature of 200F. I almost guarantee you're going to get a nasty dry hit. It seems that in TCR the mod is acting like it is in VV/VW (power mode).

    Preset TC works, TFR works sometimes. I think more mod owners (myself included) should contact Sigelei about this and push for a firmware upgrade that hopefully fixes this issue.
     
  43. kenpocory

    kenpocory Member For 4 Years Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Interesting. I set mine to 100w at 415 degrees fareinheight and no dry hit on a uwell rafale rba chain vaping. I noticed that the wattage fluctuates while firing though. Is that normal for tc?
     
  44. TechnoGeek

    TechnoGeek Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    147
    If TC is working it is normal for the wattage to fluctuate. It does that to maintain the temperature you set. So, are you in a set mode like SS, Ti, or NI, using TCR, or TFR?
     
    Wingsfan0310 likes this.
  45. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    I don't have this mod but I do use TC exclusively. If the mod shows real time wattage output, that would be normal. TC works by the mod measuring resistance change in the coil as it heats up from it's room temperature resistance. Once the mod calculates you are at your set temperature, it will vary the power to keep you there.

    Cheers,
    Steve

    Edit @TechnoGeek and I were typing at the same time, he obviously types faster than me lol.
     
  46. kenpocory

    kenpocory Member For 4 Years Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    As a side note, maybe the wrong tcr is being used to produce the dry hit? I set my tcr to. 0094 for ss 316L. I noticed if I use the preset that is in the device for ss 316L I got very little to no vapor production.
     
  47. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    This might come in handy:
    [​IMG]

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
  48. kenpocory

    kenpocory Member For 4 Years Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Nice. Thank you. This is actually the first device that I have used exclusively for tc so I'm pretty new to the concept. I vape solely on stainless 316L and so far the Sigelei 213 has handled it flawlessly. Not a single dry hit.

    I was thinking that maybe the person that rice721 was referring to that had the glowing coil at 200F perhaps was using the wrong tcr setting. Just a guess really because like I said, I'm fairly new to tc.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2016
    nelsonm64 likes this.
  49. kenpocory

    kenpocory Member For 4 Years Member For 3 Years Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Ok, after reading through the thread that rice721 provided and doing some testing of my own, he's 100% right. Although I didn't get a dry hit at 100w and 200Fon tc mode using tcr, it wasn't because the mod was regulating temperature for sure. I'll chalk the lack of a dry hit up to the coil and wick being able to take that kind of wattage. It hits as if completely unregulated when using tcr.

    The only time the tc actually works is when using the presets, just like rice stated. Also, the ss 316 preset provides little to no vapor unless ramping the temp up to around 500F. The weird thing is, if I use the preset for ss 304 on a 316 wire I get a nice regulated tc vape at about 420F or so.

    Hopefully a firmware upgrade will resolve this but I'm skeptical at this point.
     
  50. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    When using TC, you won't get much if any vapor at 200F. I'm usually at 420-450F depending on mood and or juice.

    Edit The temperature has to be high enough to vaporize your juice. I use DNA200 mods so I'm talking about TC in general, not just about this mod.
     

Share This Page

Close This Message