Become a Patron!

Help with high (er) ohm building

Hey all. I mainly drip and am used to sub-ohm. I got caught up in all the fancy coils (zippers, twisted, claptons, fused, staggered, stagged, stitched and everything in between) but am little experienced in anything above 1 ohm.

Now I'm wanting to change gears and build higher. Mainly because I've been making my own juice for about 6 months, and some recipes/flavors simply don't perform at high power/ low ohms.

What kind of builds/ohms/watts work for you all?

Huckleberried

VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 5 Years
VU Patreon
I've never been a sub-ohmer. I'm MTL on plain old tanks. With my protanks, depending on what mod I'm using I go anywhere from 1.2 up to 2.5. 30gauge wire is what I typically use, sometime 32 for the higher end ones. I just ordered some 29 gauge to try and work with my Lemo a bit.

CgS_Drone

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
I use RDA's and I make my own juice, each RDA seems to have it's sweet spot for what type of coil I am using. Right now I have started using 28ga. parallel coils in my gear. To get the best flavor out of my RDA's I have had to:

Trident=1.1-1.3 ohm 28ga twisted micro
Magma=Parallel .7-.9 ohm 28ga (absolute best of all my rda's for flavor right now)
Legion=close to the Magma
Holmes=.7-1.0 ohm 28ga twisted micro (still working on a parallel for this one)
Quasar=1.1-1.5 ohm 28ga micro
Nixon= On par with the Magma, using the same builds as shown with the Magma.

All of my stuff is run off single 18650 mech mods.

While not everything is above sub ohm most of it is right on the border of it so I listed it. This is just where I find the best flavor for my gear. My juice is 70%vg/30%pg. Not sure why but it seems the smaller the chamber the rda has I have to go to a higher resistance in order not to just burn the flavor away.