Become a Patron!

Finally!! Figured out how to make aliens!!

Everpresentnewb

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
So I have been fighting to make these for about 2 years now... Wasted many many spools of wire on failures. Last night I tried it one more time and DAMN if they didnt work! Granted there were a few little burbles in the wrapping, but 99% of the strand worked out. three cores of 26G Ka1 wrapped with 36Ni80. pretty happy with these. Then this morning I got bored and tried cores of 28G SS wrapped with 40 NI. those worked too, but I kinda forgot to take a pic of those.

My camera pretty much sucks for close up shots, but hey, weve all seen aliens before right??

Built

Glowing

Wicked

Everpresentnewb

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
Not sure why it looks like the wrappings are so loose... They werent before wrapping the coils. I dunno, at least I figured it out, now I can keep working at them and perfect them. There was a time when I couldnt make simple single core claptons.

whiteowl84

Silver Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
It's easier if you have a fast drill. If you have even tension on every core you can just get it started and spin at 3000rpm. Keep the same tension and a slight lead and it'll pretty much wrap it's self.

Sent from my E5306 using Tapatalk

Everpresentnewb

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
Yea.... Had the tension fine, Speed?? No, I had to go SLOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWW....... As in I was able to see the keychain spinning that I used to clamp the cores flat. when I sped up thats when I got a burble.

whiteowl84

Silver Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
If it's wobbly and you need a keyring the cores just aren't set up properly.