Become a Patron!

Earl Grey?

skocha361

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
I drink hot tea on occasion and recently tried a b&m's earl grey (buckeye vapors if you know em). Holy mother of crap! I gotta figure out how to make this!

I think I saw HiC say tfa's earl grey is damn close, but I'd also like to try mixing one. Any tea drinkers had a go at this? Or know a good tea, lavender, orange peel, and sweetener to use? I'm a diy noob and would appreciate any advice.

thewaatt

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
I've tried TFA Earl Grey alone at 6% and it was absolutely grotesque. Tasted like I had just chewed on a mouthful of tea bags. I had to clean my dripper with vodka and a combination of vinegar/baking soda to get rid of the lingering flavour. It's very overwhelming.

I haven't tried at lower percentages, but I imagine at 1-2% maximum, it might be palatable. FWIW, it does taste a little like Earl Grey tea, just start at low percentages and work your way up. It would probably combine well with other tea related flavours(creams or lemon, etc), but I haven't worked up the courage to use it again in any of my mixes.

FA Black Tea is a much better flavour to use when creating a tea base.

HeadInClouds

Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Vape Media
Unlisted Vendor
IMO the ideal make-it-yourself Earl Grey would start with that FA Bergamot, FA Black Tea, optional FA Honey (flavors FA does better than other brands). I can't stand vaping florals, but I have their lavender, and it's just like the plants I grow. Maybe other brands are also good for lavender... I dunno!

All tea flavors I've used are strong. 2% standalone is probably sufficient for most. Adding 0.5% Bergamot would be about right. Honey - I'd make a separate bottle of that at 10%, then use that as your flavoring, around 1-2%. Yeah, it's that strong!