Become a Patron!

Dual coil build troubles

Let me preface this by saying I am a complete newbie when it comes to RDA builds.

My build is as follows: Paragon V2 with a 18650 2500mAh 3.7V battery and using some Japanese cotton with 24 gauge Kanthal wire.

Now I have been noticing that my vape output has been really bad and my device has been getting flaming hot after a couple hits. When I checked my Ohm reading it said .32 and when I bought it the salesmen advised me to aim for at least 1.3 Ohm's, but after several rebuilds and watching YouTube videos I have not been able to get above a .7 and that was with 13 wraps with the coil. I was hoping to get some guidance on how to increase my Ohm's to help keep my mod from blowing up in my face without having to do 20 wraps to get there. Thanks for any and all help!

harpo1

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Well you would need to build both coils at 2.6 ohms. 24 gauge that would require each coil to have 50 wraps.

Thanks for your quick response. So since 50 wraps would not be feasible since I don't have the capacity for it, how do you think I should change my mod in order to vape safely? Should I change the Kanthal or battery?

harpo1

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
What battery is it?

harpo1

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Well that battery is safe with your current build. If you want to stick with 24 gauge build a single coil 13 wraps around a 3mm or 1/8" drill bit. Or if you want to stick with dual coils you'll new to use thinner Kanthal.

Here's a link to a great source of info for building coils.
http://www.steam-engine.org/

madmonkey

The Road Warrior
VU Donator
Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years