Become a Patron!

coil springing back. my nemesis

mchaggis79

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Let me start by saying I am not good at coil building. As much as I love tinkering with things and building things for some reason building coils can kiss my butt. I've been using 28 gauge stainless steel and twisting it for years now and the stuff from lightning vapes seems pretty good. I wrap 6 times around a 2mm or 2.5mm coil master jig spinner doohicky and yea it does spring back a little when I release the tension, but it's usually not bad and it can easily be tightened up and cleaned up while in the atomizer, but while I was in Ohio I needed wire so I bought a small spool from the local vape shop and it's made by a company called UD. This stuff springs back something fierce. Is there something I can do to my coils while they're all nice and tightly wrapped so that they don't f***ing move back? It's been bothering me for months, but I get by, but this UD stuff is boggling my mind.

The Cromwell

I am a BOT
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I tried some UD wire and threw it out.
LV for me.

Sure it is not Kanthal?

mchaggis79

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
I asked for stainless, but the spool doesn't say. It works in temp mode so i'm guessing it's stainless?

The Cromwell

I am a BOT
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Just ordered a 250' roll of 26 ga SS316l from LV. Thanks for reminding me.
Gave a spool away and only had a 100' spool left. Heck that is only about 2.5 years worth for me :(
Should be good for 10 years now.

Was sad when Amazon quit carrying LV wire.

You might try annealing the wire with a lighter before wrapping?

mchaggis79

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Just ordered a 250' roll of 26 ga SS316l from LV. Thanks for reminding me.
Gave a spool away and only had a 100' spool left. Heck that is only about 2.5 years worth for me :(
Should be good for 10 years now.