Become a Patron!

Coil life: sudden or slow

TahKay

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
That's basically the question. From people with experience, do the coils burn out suddenly in a way you obviously know to change them or is it a drawn out decrease in performance and you just kinda guess? Thanks!

vaperature

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
What are you talking about? RDAs / RTAs or the coils in the factory manufactured heads of tanks?

TahKay

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Factory coils are what I'm currently using, maybe later down the road I'll look into RBA. If it matters to answer the question, I have an aspire sub ohm atomizer. (If my terminology is off, I'm still learning)

vaperature

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
I don't have an Atlantis, if that's what you are using. But in any case, as with any factory coils, your wicking is going to go bad long before the "coils" do. My guess would be a slow progression to lack of flavor or bad flavor. Since I don't know about Atlantis coils, I wouldn't know how to tell you how to clean them, but I'm sure once the taste becomes bad you can clean and dry burn them like any other factory coil, at least once to get some more life out of them.

TahKay

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Yeah, it's the Atlantis. Now how thorough of a clean are you saying? Like taking the wicking and the actual coil out of the atomizer housing? Is that what you do with other brands?

vaperature

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years