Become a Patron!

Can I vape at a lower wattage than mesh coil recommendation?

I'm new to vaping and started to stop smoking four weeks ago. I started with a Joyetech Penguin and stopped cigs completely within three days and haven't looked back.

Yesterday I bought a Vaper Storm Puma mod with a Falcon King tank from my local vape shop. I really like it and am happy not to be replacing ceramic coils every 24 hours like I was on the Penguin. The coil that came installed is an M mesh dual coil with a recommended 70-80 watt setting but it's just so hot and almost too flavorful (like it's spitting juice onto my tongue). Not to mention it's blowing through juice so fast.

I watched some videos to see if it was okay to turn down the wattage and I changed it to 40. I like the temperature there and I'm not watching my juice empty out with every hit. But THEN I read on this site that it's not good to set the coils at a lower temp, that it can decrease the longevity of the coils. I'm so confused.

Please help me understand. Is it okay for me to use a lower (or half) the recommended wattage on the Falcon King dual mesh coils? Thank you!

Vape Fan

_evil twin_
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Press Corps
Member For 5 Years
Hiya PMarie. :cheers: Welcome to VU and congradulations on quitting the stinkies. Stay with it !
You can run it at whatever wattage you like. The recommended that manufacturers put on their coils is just what they think. But everyone is different so what you like is what matters, and to not smoke. You should actually get more life from running it at lower than what they think the wattage should be. :)

midknight420

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I'm new to vaping and started to stop smoking four weeks ago. I started with a Joyetech Penguin and stopped cigs completely within three days and haven't looked back.