Become a Patron!

Building your own LIPO mod-Part2-The Battery

Vapescaped

Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
Disclaimer-I am not an expert! I do not recommend, or vouch for batteries in any way! I do not test batteries in any way! This is just a collection of data that I have compiled after hours of research. This is not everything you need to know, just what I have compiled. The data is presented to you for your own interpretation.

Lipo Battery Safety Links-Read these!
this list of safety links will be updated as I find more, to give the reader as much information as I can
http://thedronegirl.com/2015/02/07/lipo-battery/
http://www.icharger.co.nz/articles/ArticleId/3/Lipo-Lithium-Battery-Safety-Guide.aspx
https://www.maxamps.com/lipo-care.php
Lithium Polymer batteries come in many forms, chemistry, sizes, and capacities. Unlike our lithium ion battery sizing system, lipos have no standard size I've found so far. lipos also do not use the amp rating that we're all used to, but rather a C-rating. Lipo voltages vary wildly from 3.7v to over 22v, depending on the number of cells and chemistry used. And finally, battery ratings can be overrated just like with our 18650s, so please fully research any battery you plan on using.

In my research, I have focused on minicopter/drone style batteries. There are other batteries out there, but I chose this style because of their small size, high power output features. The concepts, formulas, terminology should generally apply to all lipos.

Lipo Varieties
Lipos are available in 1-6 cells. 1 cell can be between 4.2v-4.35v fully charged
Lipos come in standard voltage, or high voltage, see above. High voltage requires a charger that is capable of charging high volt batteries. High volt batteries are made to be charged this high, Standard LIPOs are not!