Become a Patron!

Building your own LIPO mod-Part 1-The box

Vapescaped

Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
Disclaimer-I'm not an expert, manufacturer, or tech guru in any way. I'm a landscape mason. I took electrial courses in high school-15 years ago. Nothing I say should be taken as advice. I am not affilliated with any manufacturer, and do not endorse any product. I'm just a man with a need for a product I cannot afford. And I have a knack for knowing what I can, and cannot do or learn how to do.
This is not meant to be a tutorial on how to build anything. This is just the data I've collected, after hours of research.
I will always try to site my facts with reference links and state my opinions as such. If there is any confusion between the 2, please ask me about it.
The Box
When I started browsing around, I quickly came to the conclusion that I had no clue what I needed, or why I needed it. After a good 5 hours, I came up with the list of factors that determine the size of my box That checklist looks something like this
1)dimensions of the battery
2)Size of the RTA
3)Space for wiring and components
4)type of box
Lets break these factors down a little more

1) Dimensions of the Battery
This is Just an Overview, For General Sizing Purposes Only! A Complete Article On Batteries Is yet To Come!
When I started thinking about this part, I had no Idea that this one factor would have such a vast effect on the final outcome of my mod. The world of LIPO batteries is so infinite, I shouldn't have a problem fitting whatever I want in there right? Well, no. Here's a couple rules I found out,
Higher amperage and higher voltage means bigger size battery. Higher voltage, on average comes out to about 7mm of thickness per cell. Here's some battery links to show that:
https://hobbyking.com/en_us/turnigy-bolt-1300mah-3s-11-4v-65-130c-high-voltage-lipoly-pack-lihv.html
https://hobbyking.com/en_us/turnigy-bolt-1300mah-4s-15-2v-65-130c-high-voltage-lipoly-pack-lihv.html