Become a Patron!

An interesting (overheard) conversation

guyakaguy

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
As background I've been working for the same company for 4 years, and at the same location for a little over 3. Most of my 150 or so coworkers know that I smoke (or used to).

I was outside today vaping my Subox about the time 2 of the late day-shift stragglers were leaving. They were about 100 feet away. One is a bit of a Joe Blow too-old-to-wanna-be-hipster and the other is a no-neck mongoloid "health nut" who lives on the gym and protein bars.

Joe Blow sees me vaping and says to no-neck "well, at least it's better than smoking". No-neck says playfully "I don't know about that". Joe Blow responds "well, I mean it's definitely safer than smoking". No neck responds "IT IS NOT SAFER!!!!"...

Another coworker who is a floating relief staff from our main building was at my building for the last few days. She had seen me picking up my Subox and going out to vape during my breaks and asked me, after seeing me do it for 4 days, "you a smoker?". I thought it would be my moment to evangelize, but as it turns out she was also already claimed by the ignorant non-vapers. She started chastising me about smoking and how she had quit cold-turkey a few months back. I tried explaining what exactly it is I'm doing and that it's nowhere near as bad as smoking, but she wasn't having it.

What is everybody's deal? Why does the non-vaping public have such strong and misinformed opinions about vaping? Who's spewing the vape hate or what about vapers is pissing these people off?

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk

VAPEROXX

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Unlisted Vendor
As background I've been working for the same company for 4 years, and at the same location for a little over 3. Most of my 150 or so coworkers know that I smoke (or used to).